© Jacques van Zyl/Stocksy

Who awards the five-star status and which criteria apply? Five key facts about Skytrax


Rating excellence since 1999

Skytrax is a United Kingdom-based consultancy which started rating the quality of airlines and airports based on passenger surveys at the beginning of the 1990s. In 1999, the organization launched the star rating system with a scale of 1 to 5 stars. Only ten airlines have 5-star status, which is the highest rating.


The smallest details count

Skytrax rates the airlines’ on-board service, seating comfort, catering, safety, choice of entertainment and duty-free offers, and many other services.


 An elite club

Alongside Lufthansa, nine other airlines are entitled to display the five-star designation, all from Asia and the Arab region: Qatar Airways, Singapore Airlines, Cathay Pacific, Asiana Airlines, Hainan Airlines, ANA All Nippon Airways, Garuda Indonesia; in 2016, EVA Air and Etihad Airways joined the five-star club.


In-depth audits

Before awarding their rating, the Skytrax testers comprehensively audit all aspects of the airline based on up to 800 criteria on the ground and in the air.


Annual popularity ranking

As well as awarding the star ratings, Skytrax also publishes a ranking of the most popular airlines. In the World Airline Awards, which are based solely on passenger choice, Lufthansa was rated the best European airline in 2017 – and seventh worldwide.